Improved tire milage

Topics related to the ownership, maintenance, equipping, operation, and riding of the R1150R.

Moderator: Moderators

towerworker
Lifer
Donating Member #: 575

Improved tire milage

Post by towerworker »

I have been running Dunlop D220's since 2004 and have averaged 8 to 10K out of the rears and 10 to 12K with the fronts. This has been both with a 2003 and now a 2004 R. I am not an aggressive rider and much of my mileage is highway so typically the rear tire squares off before really running out of tread on the sidewalls. This past tire change I made only one change and that was to try the balancing beads in lieu of standard balancing with weights. I (with the help of Beemeridian) change my own tires.

I am now needing a new tire and after looking at my records I see where my front tire has nearly 19K on it and the rear has 12K and still have probably 40% tread life remaining. I have never before gotten this kind of tread life and again the only change was the balancing method. My riding style has not changed and while I suppose tread rubber compounds could change, still a big surprise. I plan to continue using the balancing beads. Any thoughts?

Wayne
The Older I Get, The Less I know. (in honor of MikeCam
'05 RT
'04 R
'03 R
CB750
KZ750
HD 350 Sprint
wncbmw
Lifer
Donating Member #: 0

Re: Improved tire milage

Post by wncbmw »

Having never gotten more than about 6K out of a rear and not much more than that on a front, my thoughts are . . . You're not having enough fun Wayne! :P

An enthusiastic right wrist, living in the mountains and a hard rock compound in the local DOT road mix ensures I will never come close to that kind of mileage.
'02 in black - the real BMW color! (Now gone to a new home)
Vann - Lifer No. 295
harveyrawn
Basic User

Post by harveyrawn »